Ronald Corp

Conductor & Composer

Sound of London

Sound of LondonFriday 21 October, 2011, 8.00 pm

The New London Orchestra made its very first appearance as Stratford Circus’ orchestra-in-residence with ‘Sounds of London’,
a journey through London’s history in music.  The concert Included Overture to the Games by Ronald Corp, a tribute to Newham as one of the host boroughs of the 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games.  It had been premiered in July 2010 as part of an open-air ‘Bolero Remixed’ concert for the Greenwich and Docklands Festival at Canary Wharf.

Sullivan: The Yeomen of the Guard Overture
Ketèlbey: Cockney Suite – 3rd movement ‘At the Palais de Danse (Anywhere)’ and 5th movement ‘Bank Holiday (‘Appy  ‘Ampstead)’
Mozart: Symphony No. 1 – 1st movement (Molto Allegro) and 3rd movement (Presto)
Stephen Dodgson: The Perilous Stick
Satie arr. Corp: Le Piccadilly
Alwyn: Festival March




Eric Coates: London Suite – Knightsbridge March
Phyllis Tate: London Fields – 1st movement ‘Springtime at Kew’ and 4th movement ‘Hampstead Heath – Rondo for Roundabouts’
Haydn: Symphony No. 104 – Finale (Spiritoso)
Robert Farnon: Westminster Waltz
Ronald Corp: Overture to the Games
Eric Coates: London Calling

New London Orchestra
Ronald Corp, conductor

Stratford Circus
Theatre Square
London E15 1BX

The New London Orchestra was grateful to theEsmée Fairbairn Foundation and William Alwyn Foundation for their generous support